Strolling back across the road to the Washington Building will bring you to the connection between the village’s two main buildings, former rival hotels.
The Portico, also known as the Piazza, has connected the Inn and the Lincoln Building since 1823 and can be seen in depictions of the village in old advertisements for the Spa. The charming courtyard formed by this connection has always been an important gathering place. Probably its most unique use was during the era of the Pennsylvania Academy of the Fine Arts Country School (1916-1952); the Historic Yellow Springs archives contains numerous photographs of students painting in the Courtyard.
Today the Portico is well-traveled and provides protection from the elements, both sun and rain, during Courtyard programs offered by Historic Yellow Springs, such as Sundaes on Sunday.
“…while the eye is in every direction delighted…with the various tints of vivid green, interspersed with rich and diversified fields of grain – the silvery buckwheat, golden rye, and glittering ranks – with numerous flocks and herds browsing the sun-clad hills, or ruminating beneath umbrageous trees, form a perfection of landscape calculated to gratify the most fastidious taste, and to amuse and charm the most capricious and glowing imagination.”
From a series on American Scenery in The Port Folio, 1810.